top of page

Welcome


In this first post, I have three things for you: an explanation, a bit of a love-in, and a quick request.

Firstly, the explanation.

In 2008, the Department for Culture, Media and Sport found that there were 9.4 million people regularly taking part in amateur theatre in the UK.

Now, this is old news. But you can be sure that’s still a heck of a lot of people either performing, creating, supporting, or watching amateur productions. Would anyone be surprised if that number had done nothing but grown since it was published? A quick google for amateur theatre in the UK brings up hit after hit for theatre companies, organisations, networks, databases… the list goes on and on.

It would be unsurprising to tell you – though I will for the sake of clarity – that I am one of the 9.4 million. I enjoy watching theatre, I enjoy performing in theatre, I enjoy creating drama (purely of the artistic variety, of course.) I hope this goes some way to basically and simply explain why this blog has been created. However, its official purpose, its USP for anyone who has been (un)fortunate enough to study business over the years, is to offer free and fair reviews for amateur and community productions in South London and North Surrey.

Why this area? Taking into consideration this coming November there is seventeen local productions taking place from Putney to Horsham that I counted (and I’m not that great at counting), covering this area holds substantial merit as somewhere that produces and breeds amateur theatre. Another reason why I’m covering this area is simple – it is my area and I love it. I have seen some amazing theatre practically on my doorstop thanks to other members of my community coming together to create something special. And for me, that’s worth acknowledging (told you there would be a bit of a love-in.)

My plan for reviews is a simple one: fairly report and critique local productions in a way I would want to be reviewed myself. Sometimes, this is highlighting how great an aspect of production is. Sometimes, it’s a frank evaluation of what an audience sees. Referring back to the DCMS report, it would seem a lot of us are in am dram for personal achievement and to improve at our chosen art form. On a personal level for performers and artists, reviews are a great way to do this.

For the companies and societies producing shows, reviews hold another useful and vital purpose and that is advertising. Who hasn’t sat in rehearsal and heard the simple request for ‘families and friends to get booking’ uttered by the slightly worried looking Publicity Manager? Reviews produced by this blog will be published and advertised through the site’s own social media and will be available, free, for you to show off your company’s creation. Reviews are aimed to be available on either the second or third day of show week, taking into consideration which performance the reviewer attends. There’s even the possibility of appearing in the monthly recommendation post, highlighting premieres, rarer shows, and those I’m most looking forward to seeing.

For more on the reviewer, please visit the About page for an overview of the benefits of receiving a review from From The House Seats.

And finally, the request. If you have enjoyed this post, love local community theatre like me, or are a committee member for a local group, please ‘like’ and ‘follow’ From The House Seats on Facebook and Twitter. The official launch will be 1st September with recommendations for the month, with the first reviews posting shortly after.

What benefits do you find there is for reviews in amateur theatre? Do you agree with the DCMS and get involved for personal achievement? Let me know in the comment section below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page